Fly like you.

The good kind of comparison: What I used to consider dinner in July, as opposed to the bottom one yesterday.
The good kind of comparison: What I used to consider dinner in July, as opposed to the bottom one yesterday.

To be fly like you. Not like me, like you.The Thief of joy is comparison,” we’ve heard it said. That thief has always had me think: to be skinny like you, to be pretty like you, to be funny, confident, and collected like you. And.. then there’s me. At times we’re our own worst enemy. I’ve always tried to change, if not act or talk like someone else, then I’d try on their look. If that didn’t fit me, I’d walk how they walked and dress how they dress. For the first time ever, on my last trip to Africa I heard, “You’re free to be you.” The wheels started turning and the seed was planted which I believe sparked my recovery. Since then, I’m learning real acceptance of who I am. I’m excited to be on a journey of learning to enjoy me.

& In all honesty: I like tattoos and I have two. Abstract art is kind of my thing. I love to write. Naturally, I’m curvy and carry a bottom I still struggle to love. Comparison still tries to rob me often, that thief. I admire independence. I’ve been abused, taken advantage of, and addicted. School is my favorite activity. I’m resilient. My laugh is loud. I cry often. See, I’m kind of sensitive, but also discerning!! I’m kind. I’m not afraid to speak the truth. I deny that living in denial is okay. I pursue freedom.

And as I write, I realize I’ve already been introduced to the real me. And the real me is fly. Now, just to be in love with my size… And you? Are you friends with Mr. Comparison-pants? Or, am I the only one who has gotten to know that rotten, rotten thief?

Let’s lock him up!

Leave a Reply

