4 months ago.

March 27, 2015. My mind is being transformed. I see this pic now and remember why I had to sit even holding a baby. Those arms. And I even see the vein that stuck out on the side of my nose by my eye. Not a flattering pic at all. But hey there Reality, isn't life fun.
March 27, 2015. My mind is being transformed. I see this pic now and remember why I had to sit even holding a baby. Those arms. And I even see the vein that stuck out on the side of my nose by my eye. Not a flattering pic at all. But hey there Reality, isn’t life fun.

4 months ago, I could not hold Aviya for more than 29 seconds before I had to put her down. Today I can carry her for probably a solid hour and even give long piggy back rides. 4 months ago, my size 0/1 pants were starting to sag. Today I’m in size 5. 4 months ago, I had no room in mind for school, relationships, or fun. Four months ago I had to run. And move around. Help others. Clean for others. So much as a facade; not to say I’m not nice, I am. But all for others and none for myself. “Sacrificing” for others was just another mask at times. Today I can sit, I can play, and I can just rest. 4 months ago, I woke up EACH night multiple times, my empty stomach saying- let’s get up! Today I slept through the night. Just as I did yesterday (and even that’s not fully stabilized yet). 4 months ago, I was in denial that I had a problem. Today I broadcast to the world- I no longer have an eating disorder, but boy did I really have a problem.
Yesterday I was driving and a few more things clicked:
1. I was really, really sick. My bony arms I wanted to see bonier. I preferred my body to look like a teenage boy instead of the 23 year old woman I am. I was jealous of anyone thinner and that was just the beginning. I really met ANA earlier this year, unlike any other times. I never want to be friends with anorexia again.
2. I am not fat. I have fat, but I am not fat. I have fingernails, but I’m not a fingernail (thanks Alesya for this wonderful analogy)! AND IT’S OKAY!! Because at least I can have children one day, if a wonderful dude waltzes into my heart, in any case. And by that time, neither Mr. Handsome Pants nor the offspring would be innocent victims of my selfish habits.
3. I am no longer on anxiety medication, and am not turning back to ED behaviors, I feel quite free. And sane. I feel sane.
4. It’s okay to admire the physique some Flawless Folks are blessed with. I have things about me that are quite admirable as well. Like my big,toothy, grin.

I like my grin.

Can you just stop and think today, what do you admire about you?
What can you admire in the masterpiece of the greatest Artist ever?
Own it.

Leave a Reply

