The cool kids of high school.

Those kewl high school faces. Plus a filter of course. And the duck-ish lips.
Those kewl high school faces. Plus a filter of course. And the duck-ish lips.

That had to be me. In the long run I lost who I was truly meant to be. Said my hello’s to a rehab and traveled the world- to save someone troubled not knowing that I’m actually her. I’ve walked down a road of recoveries- drugs, eating disorder, no functional dating relationship, & deep childhood hurt. 5 not-so-short years later, that “cool” in high school actually hasn’t been so cool. Yes, some of the Cool Folks of high school turn out to be beans leading lives that are quite alright. Mine went awry. Let’s be honest: it’s smart to focus in school-on school, not on being cool. I wanted to be wild and crazy and here I am finally facing the reality that trying to be cool- is not very kewl. At all. How many of us have tried to fit in? Or, sometimes still do? To look like everyone else, talk, and act like everyone else. Chasing a norm that’s not even there. And all along being yourself was the best way to be. I’m finding myself all over again and being cool is now something I hate. I’ll be an oddball if odd is eccentric. I’ll be funny, and smiley, and bookworming me. And what about you? Who will you be?

B.O.B has some real words in a song, here’s an excerpt of (Both of Us):
‘And sometimes I wonder, why we care so much about the way we look
And the way we talk and the way we act
And the clothes we bought, how much that cost?
Does it even really matter?
‘Cause if life is an uphill battle
We all tryna climb with the same ol’ ladder
In the same boat, with the same ol’ paddle
Why so shallow? I’m just asking
What’s the pattern for the madness
Everybody ain’t a number one draft pick
Most of us ain’t Hollywood actors
But if it’s all for one, and one for all
Then maybe one day, we all can ball
Do it one time for the underdogs
Sincerely yours, from one of y’all.”

Wait, did someone say God can’t be found in the secular? Think again.

Leave a Reply

